Hit and Run Accident

FORT WORTH HIT AND RUN CAR ACCIDENT LAWYER

Car accidents are even more stressful when it’s a hit-and-run crash. Unfortunately, hit-and-run crashes, and fatalities are increasing, according to research by the AAA Foundation for Traffic Safety. Hit-and-run accident injury victims are left in a difficult situation that requires an experienced car accident lawyer.

At Brian Hargrove Law, our Fort Worth personal injury legal team has the experience and tools necessary to handle hit and run car accident cases. When you hire Brian Hargrove, we will attempt to locate the at-fault driver and pursue all possible insurance. He has over 20 years experience helping hit and run accident victims recover FULL compensation.

Call Brian Hargrove Law today at (817) 200-7666 for your Free Consultation or reach us online.

HOW A FORT WORTH HIT AND RUN CAR ACCIDENT LAWYER CAN HELP YOU

When you’ve been injured in a hit-and-run car accident it can be overwhelming. In any accident, your first priority should be getting immediate medical care. Next, you have to figure out how to pay for the medical care for your injuries. And of course, you have to figure out how your car can be repaired or replaced.

It can be difficult to collect compensation in hit and run cases. There are only two options to recover compensation: a claim against the at-fault driver or filing an uninsured motorist claim with your insurance company. Because these cases tend to be more difficult, it is especially critical to hire an experienced Fort Worth hit and run accident lawyer.

The legal team at Brian Hargrove Law will conduct a thorough investigation into your accident. It can be difficult to collect from the at-fault party, especially if law enforcement is unable to identify the hit and run driver. Even without a complete crash report, we have experience locating the at-fault driver.

Unfortunately, there are some cases where it is just not possible to identify the hit and run driver. In these situations, we will need to file an uninsured motorist claim with your auto insurance company. If you carry Uninsured motorist coverage, we can pursue a claim cover your medical expenses. However, it’s more complicated than just filing a claim. More often than not you end up fighting with your own insurance company to recover full compensation for your injuries.

That’s where an experienced Fort Worth Hit and Run Car Accident Lawyer comes in. Brian Hargrove has over 20 years of experience helping hit and run accident victims recover FULL compensation.

WHAT TO DO AFTER A FORT WORTH HIT AND RUN CAR ACCIDENT

  1. SEEK IMMEDIATE MEDICAL ATTENTION

If you're the victim of a hit-and-run accident, your first priority should be the safety and well-being of everyone involved.

  1. GATHER INFORMATION

Get as many details as about the car and driver who struck you including:

  • The car’s make, model, and color
  • Eyewitnesses
  • Photos
  1. CALL BRIAN HARGROVE LAW

WHAT IS A HIT AND RUN ACCIDENT?

In Texas, a "hit-and-run" is legally known as "failure to give information and render aid" following an accident. After a crash, a driver must follow the requirements as detailed in Texas Transportation Code 550.021-024. Generally speaking, you are required to stop and do the following:

  • Render aid to an injured person
  • Wait for police to arrive if they are called
  • Exchange driver’s license and insurance information

Fleeing the scene of any car, truck, or motorcycle accident is illegal. In Texas, the charges and penalties of a hit-and-run crime vary depending on the circumstances of the offense.

TEXAS HIT AND RUN LAWS

A hit and run involving property damage only valued at less than $200 is a Class C misdemeanor, resulting in fines up to $500.

When property damage is estimated at over $200, it is a Class B misdemeanor. This can result in jail time up to 180 days and fines up to $2,000.

Leaving the scene of a non-injury accident becomes a felony. When the injuries are minor, the offender can be charged with a “county jail felony” with penalties up to 2 years in county jail and fines up to $10,000.

When the offender seriously injures someone, they can be charged with a third-degree felony. This can result in 2 to 10 years in prison with fines up to $10,000.

A hit-and-run crime that kills someone is a second-degree felony. This can carry from 2 to 20 years in prison, and fines up to $10,000.

Leaving the scene without doing any of these is considered a “hit-and-run”. You're required to stay regardless of whether or not you were responsible for the accident. Further, leaving the scene of a crash without exchanging information can suggest that you were at-fault.

Call Brian Hargrove Law for your free consultation at (817) 200-7666 or send us a message.

  • reviewer image

    I can’t give a higher recommendation than Brian Hargrove.

    - Mike Vomhof
  • reviewer image

    I was always kept in the loop and informed.

    - Cody Van Fleet
  • reviewer image

    They will work very hard for you!

    - Tara Rodriguez
  • reviewer image

    I couldn’t have been happier!

    - Leann Ramsey
  • reviewer image

    I was at peace all through and everything was well done.

    - Today B Easyy

Contact Us Today

Get Your Free Consultation
  • Please enter your first name.
  • Please enter your last name.
  • Please enter your phone number.
    This isn't a valid phone number.
  • Please enter your email address.
    This isn't a valid email address.
  • Please make a selection.
  • Please enter a message.